The Fruita Consumers Co-op has announced that three (3) local high school students have been selected to each receive a Co-op Country scholarship. These scholarships are presented to high school graduates entering college with intentions to major in agricultural related degree programs.

Mr. Dean VanWinkle, a senior at Fruita Monument High School winner of the $4,200 Coop Country Agriculture Future of America scholarship, ($3,200 academic scholarship plus $1,000 for the AFA leader’s conference) plans to attend Fort Scott Community College.

Ms. Amanda Seymour, a senior at Olatha High School, plans to attend West Texas A&M University received a $2,500 Coop Country Academic Scholarship.

Ms. Taylor Sickels a senior at Nucla High School, plans to attend Fort Lewis College received a $2,000 Coop Country Academic Scholarship.

“We are pleased to recognize such exceptional students and hope this scholarship launches a great educational experience and successful career for all of these students,” said Alex Kamas, President and CEO of the Fruita Co-op.  “It is important that we support our students who pursue careers that will have a profound affect on agriculture and who will hopefully return to the rural community to keep America’s agriculture future strong.”

The Fruita Co-op was founded in 1937 and has Co-op Country Stores in Fruita, Nucla and Palisade and has over 7,000 member-owners living and working throughout Western Colorado.